justathought

Just the thoughts of a girl.

Shhh…

Shhh…

Don’t say it too loudly…

But, I think Summer has arrived!!!

Somehow we seem to have skipped right past Spring and landed smack in the middle of summer. It is SO nice to feel the sun on your skin, especially after thinking that Winter was never going to end. I remember last year it was very sunny when we had our exams, and because people on most other courses had exams later than us we had to watch them having a nice time in the sun while we were stuck inside revising. Then just as we finished our exams and everyone else was having theirs, the sun had decided it didn’t want to play any more and we were left with very mediocre, overcast days to pretend to enjoy. This year though, the sun has come early enough for us to enjoy it, at least a little bit. I’ve spent most of the past few days after uni in beer gardens sipping on cider and chatting away with my friends, usually before ordering food there too so we didn’t have to move anywhere and could enjoy the last of the sunshine. It’s been brilliant! I’d never actually spent a whole day slowly drinking before, but I have to say that I am a big fan!

Whilst I have been having a very nice time, I am also aware that my exams aren’t all that far off (just over a month away now!) and that I do need to get cracking with revision. It’s actually worked out quite well because I’ll go and have a good time in the sun relaxing, but as soon as I get home I’ll do some productive revision to overcome the guilt I’ve felt for having a nice day. It means I get work done, but I also have time out and I get to see my friends which was a major downside of revision last year.

Another good thing about revision this year is the fact that our house has a little garden. Well, it’s more like a yard – just a strip of concrete really, but IT’S OUTSIDE!! And it’s all ours. This means that for the last couple of days when the weather has been really nice, I’ve spread a blanket out, lugged all of my notes, books and laptop outside and spent the day there revising instead of in my room. I have to say that I’m slightly less productive outside as it’s very hard to see the laptop screen with all the glare and I spent the whole time with my eyes screwed up if I try and read my notes, but it’s way better than being in a stuffy bedroom. My mum should be delivering me some sunglasses amongst other things tomorrow, so I have the chance to do outside revision without being constantly blinded. It should be good!

The only downside to revising outside is that my 3rd year neighbours seem to think that it’s totally acceptable to blare music EXTREMELY loudly from their window. Fair enough, play music, but not so loud that I can’t hear myself think. Surely they must have exams too?! I’ve had to take a bit of a break from being outside just at the minute as the sun’s at its highest and I haven’t got any suncream here (another thing that my mum’s delivering me tomorrow) and I burn very easily. I’ve tried to be careful but it is hard to keep track of tanning/burning without being able to control it with suncream.

As you may have noticed, I still haven’t had time to fix the photo problem where I can’t insert photos without deleting old ones, and I doubt I’ll have time until after my exams so my posts will just have to photoless for a little while. I apologise for this, but I’m such a technophobe that I’m not too surprised that something has gone wrong.

I hope you’re all enjoying the sun as much as I am if it has graced you with its presence in the last few days. We’re all certainly appreciating it here!

1 Comment

  1. Melanie

    Um……. It’s gone again! X

Leave a Reply

