justathought

Just the thoughts of a girl.

Chocolate Ganache

Just a warning, this is a very picture-heavy post. Not sure if that’s a good thing or a bad thing, but I just thought I’d prepare you!

When I was home, nearly two weeks ago now (I honestly can’t believe how fast time is going! I seem to have so much work and it’s just sucking away all my time!) my mum and I decided to make a chocolate cake in order to attempt a chocolate ganache topping. This is because I was introduced to THE MOST AMAZING CAKE SHOP EVER a little while ago. Actually, my friends bought me a cake from this shop for my birthday back in November, but I didn’t realise they do normal slices of cake that you can buy (really cheaply actually, only about £2.00). I can’t describe to you just how good these cakes are. In fact, I don’t think it’s the cake that makes it as it seems pretty standard, but the icing is incredible. After a lengthy phone call to my mum, with me saying things like, “It’s kind of hard, but still gooey; I think it must set slightly after it’s put on the cake; it’s really chocolatey and tastes amazing!”, my mum decided it was most likely to be chocolate ganache. So, we set about making a chocolate cake, following the same recipe as this one I made last year and at the same time we made the ganache to allow it time to set before applying to the cake.

The first thing we did was to tip the remainder of the double cream we used for the scones into a pan (it should actually be 7 fl.oz) and then added an equal amount of plain chocolate (so it should be 7 oz) and put on a low heat until the chocolate had melted.

P1100412 P1100415

P1100417

Eventually it turns into this glossy, silky brown and then that’s basically it! You can whisk it to make sure the chocolate’s completely melted and then pop it in the fridge for an hour or two until it’s the right consistency to spread on the cake.

P1100419

P1100423

 

Then you assemble the cake and start spreading! We put chocolate butter icing in the middle of out cake as we didn’t have enough cream to make ganache for the middle and top and we also had some leftover from another cake in the fridge.

P1100425

P1100427

P1100428

P1100429

P1100430

P1100431

 

The addition of some chocolate stars and we were good to go.

P1100432

P1100436

P1100440

It did taste really good, although I don’t think we’ll ever beat the icing from the cake shop. I’m all up for several more tests to see if we can though! Writing this post has made me crave chocolate SO much, I might just have to go and eat a mars bar…

Apologies for the lack of words in this post. Just remember, a picture is worth 1000 words so really I’ve just written a hugely long essay of a post! But I congratulate you if you got through this and have managed not to eat all the chocolate in a 5 mile radius from you – I’m very impressed!

1 Comment

    Trackbacks

    1. The Best Cake In The World | justathought

    Leave a Reply

