justathought

Just the thoughts of a girl.

Scones

As promised, here’s the first recipe following my weekend of food – scones. I’m not sure why I was craving scones, as they’re definitely a summer food for me, but I just couldn’t get them out of my head! So I made some, and then ate lots of them!

The first step is to sieve 8 oz of self raising flour into a bowl (if I remember rightly, we also added 2 teaspoons of baking powder at this point too), before adding 2 oz of butter and rubbing them together with your fingers to make a breadcrumb like texture. The step AFTER creating the breadcrumbs is to add 1 oz of caster sugar, but I was a fool and added it before. It didn’t make any difference though, so that’s ok.

P1100385

 

P1100388
P1100389

 

Next, add 1/4 of a pint of milk all in one go and mix into a dough with a knife.

P1100391

P1100392

 

After this, the recipe calls for it to be turned out onto a board and lightly kneaded. This is where I went wrong the first time I made scones when I kneaded it like you’d knead bread (don’t do that!). Thankfully my mum was on hand this time and she told me that when she makes them she puts the dough straight onto the baking tray without kneading it at all, and then squished it down slightly so it’s all the same thickness. This is what I did and it worked much better!

P1100393

 

I know when my mum makes scones she just chops the dough up into triangles like you would a pizza, but I wanted proper round scones with the fluted edges (is that the right term? Fluted? Hmm…), so I used a cutter and did it like that instead.

P1100394 P1100395

 

The recipe made 6 and a bit well-sized scones, which I then glazed with milk before putting in the top of a  preheated oven at 230 degrees for about 10 minutes.

P1100398

 

I placed them onto a cooling rack and waited approximately 2.5 seconds before breaking one open and smothering it with jam and cream. Actually, to be fair, we did wait for 5 minutes, but we only managed it because we put the timer on and held each other back!

P1100400

P1100401

I was actually really pleased with how they turned out – nice and fluffy and light. YAY! In my mind, the jam always has to go on the scone first, before the cream. It just makes sense that way! Jam is much easier to spread and cream to dollop. Usually, we’d have clotted cream but the co-op didn’t have any so we had thick double cream instead. They were YUM!

P1100406

P1100407  P1100408

 

Mmmm, now I’m craving scones again! Damn! Oh well, I’ll make them again soon when I come back over Easter. But seriously, make some scones! Be outrageous and make scones when it’s not even really spring yet. (I may be telling you to do this to make me feel better. Not only did I make scones when it’s not summer, but I just went out and bought two Easter eggs!! I’m shocked by my behaviour and am too disgusted with myself to eat them until it’s at least a bit closer to Easter. But hopefully you’ll understand when I explain that it was only £1:50 for both of them, as my friend and I both bought two and they were in a ‘buy two get two free’ offer. They were practically handing them out for free!! I still feel guilty though…).

P1100472

3 Comments

  1. Yum yum, I made scones this week too, but my recipe uses strong flour… Not sure what difference it makes?…. AND definitely jam first, cream first is just wronb

  2. Or even wrong…like my spelling….

Trackbacks

  1. Chocolate Ganache | justathought

Leave a Reply

