justathought

Just the thoughts of a girl.

Just A Catch Up

So, Christmas is officially over. The decorations are all packed up, the tree ready to be taken away and I’m back at uni.

P1100130

It’s always a strange thing coming home from uni or going back after a holiday. It’s like I’ve got two completely separate lives and I’m switching between them. Both have good things and bad things and it just takes a bit of time to get used to leaving one behind and to get settled into the new one. That’s not to say I’m not having a nice time, I AM – I’ve only been here for two and a half days and most of that’s been spent eating pizza and playing card games! It’s just a bit different.

And in true uni fashion today I’ve had one 9am lecture, come home, watched 8 out of 10 Cats on 4OD, had a nap, attempted to do half an hour of work and have eaten nearly half a pot of chocolate coated almonds. I think that’s a very productive day, really!

P1100138

 

All afternoon I was debating whether I could force myself to go and do a training session at the local canoe club and decided not to. Then I changed my mind and quickly texted the coach asking what time the session was so I couldn’t back out. I was a bit late so missed the running (SCORE!), but still got embarrassingly outshone on the gym session by a bunch of 12 year old boys. My partner was very encouraging though and kept telling me that my target was to beat him. So I pushed him over. It will be nice when I can move my boat up here so I can train on my own during the day to avoid the looks of pity at being so inferior.

So far, my workload isn’t looking too bad but I’m sure that’s going to pick up enormously just when I’ve settled into my very important routine of watching films, reading books, seeing friends and napping. It does seem to be that I either have (seemingly) no work to do, or so much I can barely cope. This is why I’m TRYing to go over some of the past lectures at the moment so that when I have to revise them, it will actually be revision rather than an ‘I half recognise that word but have no idea what it means, oh God, that makes no sense to me whatsoever, WHO MAKES THIS STUFF UP?!’ blind panic. I’ve also realised that typing out notes is a LOT quicker than writing them on paper, it doesn’t hurt your hand as much and you can change things and make them all pretty colours. So that’s how I’m attempting work at the moment, although napping to David Attenborough doing the voice over for ‘Africa’ seemed to take over today.

Right, now I’m off to have a shower in the bath with no shower curtain so the whole bathroom gets absolutely sodden, watch ‘Up’ and eat my way through the rest of those chocolate coated almonds. Sounds like a fun evening!

 

3 Comments

  1. I’m most surprised that you eat almonds.
    Can’t believe you are now typing your notes after I bought you a mahoosive pack of special coloured pens.
    I don’t think I can read your blog anymore because your lack of productivity compared to what I have to squeeze into a 40 minute nap time makes me want to hit you with a kipper. Or at least hide a kipper in your radiator.

    • Haha, I’ll be on the look out for kippers in my radiator, although the radiator won’t make much difference as the heating isn’t on here. I’m saving the pretty pens for hardcore revision in the summer. They definitely won’t go to waste!

  2. One-oh-four

    Chill while you can, I say……!

    “Up” is such a gorgeous film, always has me blubbing within the first 10 minutes (welling up now at the mere thought of it) but I love it. Good idea to review your work regularly – wish I could persuade my sixth formers to do the same 😦

Leave a Reply

