justathought

Just the thoughts of a girl.

Christmas Elves

After canoeing yesterday, my mum and I headed over to my grandma’s to act as little Christmas elves and deliver some Christmas cheer. We arrived to find all of the Christmas cards that she’d written in neat little piles on her kitchen table, so first things first, we all popped in the car and drove around the village (taking some very interesting routes with my grandma’s directions!) to deliver them all. My mum was the chauffeur, my grandma the navigator and I was the postman. We made a pretty good team and we got through them all in nearly no time at all. After that came the fun bit – the decorating of the house!

Instead of having a huge Christmas tree this year, my grandma’s having a mini one which just fits snuggly in the fire place and won’t have so many needles to clear up! It even came with a few decorations and some battery powered lights. We thought it still needed a some proper decorations just to liven it up a bit and make it feel unique, so we rifled through the decorations box and picked out a few of the smaller ones to hang on it. They still looked big on the tree, but it made it look so much better!

IMG_0042

 

Here are a few of my favourite decorations:

A teeny tiny Father Christmas…

IMG_0052

 

…a little Christmassy village carved out of wood…

 

IMG_0053

 

…and look – a proper little tin bird!

IMG_0054

 

 

As the Christmas tree already had lights on, we decided to put the lights than normally go on the tree on the sideboard in the living room. It looked so pretty and my grandma was really pleased with it. My mum also put another set of fairy lights in the kitchen around some photo frames and that looked lovely too. My grandma’s house always feels really cosy at Christmas time, but the fairy lights just made me want to snuggle on the sofa with a good book and a mug of hot chocolate.

IMG_0043

 

We gave the little mice on the side board their own little Christmas tree. I think they were pleased with it!

IMG_0048

IMG_0047

IMG_0049

 

 

After we’d finished sprinkling our Christmas magic all over the place (read as: accidentally dropping bits of tinsel/glitter everywhere) the house looked sufficiently Christmassy. Everywhere you looked there was a plump Father Christmas candle holder, or gold stars hanging from little hooks or bits of tinsel and ribbon draped over light holders on the wall. My grandma looked really thrilled that we’d helped her and was, as far as I can tell, happy with the result. Although, for all I know, she could have been ripping down the fairy lights and rearranging all the tree decorations as soon as we shut the door. You can just never tell with Grandparents!

We still have to decorate our house, but we’re getting prepared to do it all. And my mum and I have been working on a HUGE Christmas bake which I will hopefully share with you at some point soon. It’s taking a lot longer than expected, but will hopefully be finished in the near future – I can’t wait to show you all!

Have you decorated your house? What’s your favourite decoration?

1 Comment

  1. One-oh-four

    Awww! That glass angel is beautiful. We have decorated our house but not as much as normal as we are going to be away at the in-laws and then my sisters for the majority of the time. We have a proper tree in the lounge which looks very pretty with red and gold tinsel and baubles. We also have a little gold fibre optic tree in the kids’ den but the motor that makes the lights change colour is so noisy that you can’t hear the TV over it, and since that is primarily what the room is used for, it is a bit of a waste!

    Normally I decorate the banisters with a long green garland, with shiny bead strings, huge “12 days of Christmas” baubles, and fir cones and holly. This year I was asked to not do it please as 1. We are away, and have no visitors coming who wil see it, 2. The beads scratched the paint off the banisters last year, and 3. Apparently the green tinsel that makes up the base of the garland tickles the kids’ ankles as they go up to bed and they don’t like it. So I’m not sure it will be reinstated next year which makes me quite sad. I will have to think of something else….

Leave a Reply

