justathought

Just the thoughts of a girl.

Catching Up

Ok, ok, I know I haven’t posted in a while *hangs head in shame*, but I’m here now and that’s what counts. I have been busy doing lots of interesting (and not so interesting) things and the blogging just had to slow down for a little bit. So, what have I been up to? Well, I’ve been going to the canoe club to be shown up by twelve year olds so may times that I’ve made a list of things they can do and I can’t:

  • Run fast
  • Do chin ups
  • Do clapping press ups (where you push yourself up so hard that you can clap before you come down again)
  • Do Superman press ups (where you push up even harder and kind of jump so your whole body comes of the ground before you come down again)

Seriously, I’m embarrassed by my lack of ability to keep up with them! I was chatting to one of the juniors on Tuesday and he asked me how old I was, so I told him that I’m nearly 20 and his jaw dropped to the ground, his eyebrows shot up and he squealed, “I THOUGHT YOU WERE TWELVE!!”. “Oh,” I said, trying to keep my composure, “Well, how old are you?”. “Eleven”. Great, so this eleven year old boy thought I was ONE year older than him. How did that even happen?!

As well as having my self esteem torn to shreds by people nearly half my age, I have been doing lots of work and going into uni every day for lab classes. Thankfully those have finished now and so I only have three contact hours a week! Compare that to this time last year when I was in for about 23 hours a week and my life is so much easier now! I still have lots of work to be getting on with, but it’s a nice, manageable amount.

On Friday, my mum came over for a bit of shopping and we ended up buying a picnic-y lunch from Marks and Spencer with the intention of eating it at my uni house, but when we got back all my flatmates and their friends were in the sitting room so we ended up having a proper little picnic in my room. I’d stripped my bed sheets for my mum to take home and wash for me (such an advantage of living close to home!) so we spread out the sheet and used it as a blanket for our picnic. It worked perfectly! On the menu was a delicious cheesy bread that can easily be gobbled up between two people, some vegetable crisps, houmous, grapes, apples and chocolate brazil nuts. Needless to say, we did NOT eat it all and actually only managed half the loaf of bread and the crisps but it was still fun.

 

 

This bread is seriously good. If you’re ever in M&S, pick one up. You won’t regret it!

 

 

And after we finished the picnic, I was left with a nice, fresh bed with sheets that had been washed at home which for some reason just smell and feel so much nicer than anything I wash at uni.

 

Yesterday I made mince pies with my friends whilst singing along to a Christmas playlist. They turned out really well actually, especially considering that we were all incredibly hungover from the night before!  I was really pleased with them, but I didn’t manage to take any photos (I’m such a bad blogger at the moment!). Then this morning, I caught the train home and have been baking this afternoon, again with the Christmas tunes being blasted out. We’ve definitely got the Christmas feeling over here! These are chocolate kisses. Actually, these are upside down chocolate kisses because the chocolate had to set (apologies for the awful photo!).

 

This is what they look like the right way up. They’re kind of a cross between a cookie and a brownie and they’re incredibly moreish!

 

I really miss baking and cooking in general while I’m at uni, so it’s nice to catch up on it all! And that’s what I’ve been up to. I’ll do my best to post more often now I’m not in uni so much. It’s just hard to keep up with everything! Thank you for being patient with my inconsistent posting, I do appreciate you coming back to read this when there’s been nothing for so long. I’ll try and do better, I promise!

What have you been baking recently?

6 Comments

  1. Mei

    It’s always so awkward when people are wayy off on your age. I’m 25 and while shopping for a wedding dress these high school girls thought I was shopping for a prom dress. High school was so 7+ years ago! Things like that happen a lot when I don’t wear make up. 😦 But I guess it’s better to look younger than older right?

  2. Liz J

    I’ve been baking bread in a newly acquired bread maker.What a disappointment so far.Even the birds don’t like it! Thank goodness the bread maker was a hand me down or I would have been seriously disappointed.Any advice suggestions would be gratefully received.How about posting the recipe for your chocolate kisses.They look delicious.

  3. One-oh-four

    Not baking, but made a heavenly casserole today. Glad things have lightened up a bit at Uni; science courses always seem more rigorous than other subjects and leave you with little time for fun and generally “being a student”. Totally in awe of the whole canoeing / extreme press ups thing….

  4. Louise

    Youthful appearances must run in the family. Your mum looks lovely and yes young! It looks like fun having a picnic on the floor, it’s nice to read about families that like each other. You might not like looking young now, but I promise you it will be in your favour one day. Until then don’t worry about it – just carry your ID!

  5. Not so much baking but made some scrummy sofrito rice with bacon, onion and peppers in it for tea. A definite cook again. X

  6. Melanie

    I baked a chocolate birthday cake . . . . .

Leave a Reply

