justathought

Just the thoughts of a girl.

A Student’s Weekend

I’ve done it again. I thought I’d learnt my lesson last year, but apparently not. I’ve left it until I’ve run out of clothes before doing my laundry. I’m not sure why, but it just feels like a weekend job to me, so even if I only have a few items of clothing left, I always wait until a Saturday to wash everything. It’s not even as though it’s a big job – our washing machine’s in a little outhouse in our back garden and it only takes about an hour to wash a load. I don’t have the excuse of saying that I don’t want to lug everything over to the laundrette and I don’t want to waste money doing extra loads (our water bill is included in the rent), so I just don’t know why I don’t do two loads per week. I think I’m going to have to start because every time I do washing at the moment, my room ends up looking like this:

The definite plus side of having clothes drying everywhere is that it gives you a valid reason to try and warm your room up using your hair dryer. We’ve been very good with having our heating off to try and save as much money as possible, but it does mean that washing takes about three days to dry (not a good thing when you’re as silly as me and wait until you’ve run out of clothes before washing everything!). This means I get to attempt to kick start the drying process by aiming my hair dryer at full blast at the clothes horse (and every so often at me), which warms my room up a treat!

As well as doing my laundry yesterday, I actually got around to writing to my Grandma. I’ve been meaning to do this for ages but considering I visited home the last two weekends and saw her, there wasn’t much to write about! I really like writing to people as there’s nothing more exciting and pleasing than getting a nice piece of post in amongst the bank statements and specsavers adverts addressed to past tenants. It’s also nice to think that you’ll be giving someone else that nice feeling when your letter gets delivered. In with the letter I sent a picture of the cat that I sometimes see in our garden because she has a fat black and white cat that often goes to visit her in her garden and likes to sit and be watched from a distance. It’s like having a pet but without having to feed or look after them in any way – it’s brilliant!

 

Now I just have to remember to post it and then look forward to the reply!

Today I had a lovely lie in before chatting to my housemates and then watching a bit of Gavin and Stacey. It was about half one when I got such a HUGE craving for some kind of chocolate that I had to make a quick dash to the corner shop and buy some. I went in with the intention of buying one chocolate bar, but somehow came out with a kit kat chunky, a whisper gold, a double decker AND a packet of chocolate malt biscuits. Oops! I ate the whisper gold and then sat twiddling my thumbs feeling unsatisfied and arguing with myself about what I should do. I’m pretty sure I blacked out for a while and then I came to next to an empty packet of biscuits. I don’t know how it happened, but there are crumbs around my mouth and I feel extremely full and just a little bit sick. Maybe I shouldn’t buy such a big packet next time…

 

So now I’m on a sugar high and have enough energy to attempt all of the work I should probably have done this morning instead of watching TV programmes and stuffing myself with chocolate. There’s always a silver lining, sometimes you just have to look a little harder for it. And hey, if I start feeling guilty about eating so much, I’ve still got two chocolate bars hidden away to cheer me up again!

2 Comments

  1. You could always use it as an excuse to buy some more clothes !! I agree that letters are nice to receive – be sure to keep those you receive from your Nan. One day, years in the future, you will be so glad you did – trust me.

  2. Melanie

    I think the biscuit/chocolate thing could be hereditary as I’m pretty sure that’s happened to me on occasion too. And on a positive note, you don’t have to worry about the biscuits going stale, or having to find somewhere to keep the open packet, so really you were just being tidy too. Well done!

Leave a Reply

