justathought

Just the thoughts of a girl.

A Happy Blogger

For some reason, it feels like a very long time since I last blogged so sorry about that! I’ve discovered that when I’m busy doing lots of nice or fun things, I don’t tend to blog as much. When I’m busy doing lots of horrible, boring things like working then I do blog lots as a form of procrastination! Probably not the best way to do things, but know that if I’m not blogging consistently, it’s most likely because I’m happy with what’s going on in my life at the moment. Either that or I’m SO bogged down with the horrible, boring work that even I can’t justify procrastinating.

I found the same thing happened when I moved back home from uni for the summer. At uni I blogged nearly every day either for something to do or to delay the things that I really SHOULD be doing, then at home I was all of a sudden living my life exactly how I like it and found that I was busy and didn’t WANT to procrastinate. It’s not that I’m super busy at the moment, but I’m always surrounded by people so instead of taking a break from work by writing a blog post, I nip into one of my housemates’ rooms and chat to them for a bit.

I’m much happier living in a house surrounded by people – it feels more like my ‘home’ life. And I’m also much happier not living on campus. It gives me a way to separate between uni and the rest of my life instead of it feeling like one very very long day at school. It also makes me feel much closer to home as well. I was only 45 minutes away at uni and now I’m only half an hour but the fact that I’m in a town where my mum sometimes comes to shop just makes it feel a million miles closer than before. I think the biggest difference in my happiness compared to this time last year is the work load. The first term of last year was just horrendous. My friend gave a brilliant analogy for it by saying that it was like they were throwing all the balls at us at once without teaching us how to juggle. I would be in lectures or tutorials or labs for about 24 hours every week, which may not seem like too much compared to school days, but when you think that each lecture is meant to be supported by three hours work at home, labs required a report of about 4 pages every week and tutors set questions for you to answer in depth and you can see why I barely had time to sleep. Compare that to now and I have 10 hours of lectures, a one hour tutorial every other week and labs haven’t started yet. It is SO much easier to be happy when you have time to go out with your friends, wonder around the shops or even just sit and read a chapter of a book (I’m currently reading Northern Lights, suggested by one of my lovely readers before the summer).

For instance, so far I have been out clubbing twice, been to two house parties (one dressed as Cat in the Hat – don’t ask), had lunch with two of my friends from home that also go to Warwick, had coffee with two of my old flat mates, had lunch with my friends who don’t live with me and I’m organising/going to a pancake party tomorrow. I am one sociable student right now! The pancake party is for one of my friends who is apparently incapable of organising something for his 20th birthday and wanted me to do it instead. With flour, eggs and milk bought and invitations sent, I think I’m done.

Of course, all of this isn’t to say that I’m not missing home. I do miss it, but it’s not the terrible achey homesickness that I had last year and I’m able to do lots of things to distract myself from the fact that I haven’t seen my family in, oh – it’s only been two weeks. It feels much longer than that! But I guess it’s the beginning of the year and I still have to get used to the fact that I’m not living at home at the moment.

Next week I don’t have any lectures on Monday or Tuesday, so I thought it would be a good weekend to go home because I can leave on Friday evening and come back on Wednesday morning so I’ll have had a proper mini holiday. I only suggested it because of having the Monday and Tuesday free, not because I couldn’t cope not being at home but now that I’ve organised it I feel like I cannot WAIT to get back! I can’t wait to see my family and go canoeing and have a long shower and eat some properly cooked food that I haven’t cooked myself. I also can’t wait to do the last few bake off challenges! The Great British Bake Off has been my hangover cure whilst lying in bed at 7am after a night out (I always seem to wake up early after I’ve been out. Weird…) and it just makes me want to try and make all of those delicious bakes! I was all prepared to attempt doughnuts before I came back to uni but there just wasn’t time in the end. I’m super excited to try them though!

Anyway, I’ve been writing this blog post on and off throughout the day, so sorry if it seems a bit disjointed. That’s what my life has become, not being able to write a blog post at one time because I’m interrupted by meeting my friends for coffee, washing up, meeting my friend from the train station, talking to my mum on the phone… you get the idea. I’d best get back to my housemates now as they’re waiting on me to watch Take Me Out (not my kind of programme to be honest – much too judgy if you ask me, but it’s nice to be sociable). I hope you’ve all had a good weekend!

4 Comments

  1. I am glad that you are happier 🙂
    xxx

  2. Liz T

    You sound like a normal Uni student Alice, enjoy it, your blog will be here waiting for you. It’s lovely to hear from you but you have to also live your life and just think, if you don’t take time to live, what will you have to write about?

  3. Katharina

    Hi Alice,
    I like to read your blog but in the first place: enjoy your life as a student!!! 🙂

Trackbacks

  1. Snippets « justathought

Leave a Reply

