justathought

Just the thoughts of a girl.

A Bad Bus Journey

As my university campus is kind of in the middle of nowhere, and because I now live in a nearby town, I have to get the bus to and from university every day. It wouldn’t be so bad if it didn’t mean having to wake up an hour earlier than usual, but there are so many students heading in at the same times each day that you can watch 5 full buses sail straight past you because they can’t fit any more people on. The same thing happens coming back home – because everyone finishes lectures at the same time, everyone wants to get on the same bus. To be fair, the bus company does send extra buses at the times they know everyone will try to get on, but no matter how many they send, it’s never enough!

It was because it was so full coming home the other day that I ended up being the laughing stock of the whole bus. My friends and I only just managed to squeeze on to the bus, so we were left standing with about 6 other people. I was sort of in between two of the poles that you’re meant to hold on to, so I was only loosely gripping on to one and you can guess what happened. A car pulled out right in front of the bus while we were travelling quite quickly, causing the bus to slam on its brakes. Most people lose their balance and grip on to the pole they’re holding for dear life, but I only manage to hold onto the pole with my fingertips and so the rest of my body gets flung out in front of me. The fact I was holding on slightly with one hand causes me to do a kind of spiral manoeuvre and I end up slamming into the people in front of me before crashing into the next pole with my arms flailing everywhere. To make it worse, I end up facing the whole of the rest of the bus and seeing the passengers try to keep a straight face as my bag falls on the floor.

I bend down to pick up my bag, move back to where I was standing next to my friend and try not to feel the blush on my cheeks. It was not a good bus journey. My friend did apologise for not grabbing me, but if he’d have let go of his pole, he would have crashed into me and we would have landed on a pile on the bus floor, so I’m kind of glad he didn’t.

I miss being able to role out of bed half an hour before a lecture and being able to get to and from lectures without making a fool of myself. Ah well, I’m sure people will forget about it eventually!

5 Comments

  1. One-oh-four

    How embarrassing! You’ll have to get a bike :):)

  2. Melanie

    Ah, the bus. So many potential problems! I remember catching the bus home with my friend after school when I was a teenager and trying to open the window as it was really hot inside. However, I didn’t realise I was sitting by the fire escape window and I set the alarm off much to my huge embarrassment-and everyone else’s annoyance. Don’t worry, peoples memories of it will fade over time! XX

  3. Kathryn

    oh dear – these things happen, and it will be a ‘do you remember when I ….’ moment with your uni friends in years to come!

  4. I remember those bus journeys to and from Warwick very well, I lived on Westwood campus in my first year and could wait over an hour to get into the city centre as full buses went past! Not nice when its cold! We then moved to earlsdon and had to travel in and out on the number 12 every day, more waiting! I hope you’re enjoying Warwick, I had a fantastic time there! Xx

Trackbacks

  1. Snippets « justathought

Leave a Reply

