justathought

Just the thoughts of a girl.

Group Meals

Did I say in my last post that I’m living with three other girls? I can’t remember… Anyway, I’m living with three other girls in a four bedroomed terrace house, which means our house is perfectly girly. We have big sheets of paper stuck on the walls in the living room covered in photos, we have throws on the sofa and pretty posters on the wall. One of the best bits about living with girls though is the organisation – it is wonderful! We make a list of meals we want to eat, then get a big tesco delivery to our house with the relevant foods in it (by the way, it’s SO much better being able to get a tesco delivery rather than walk all the way there and struggle all the way back with heavy bags!).

Each evening, we all help to cook one of the meals on the list which is written on a white board hung up in the living room and then sit down together around the table while we eat. After that, we all help to wash up, dry up, wipe the surfaces and sweep the kitchen floor. It’s such a nice arrangement and works really well because three out of the four of us are vegetarian. I do feel sorry for the meat eater as she has to put up with being vegetarian for 90% of the time when we eat together, but she doesn’t seem to mind too much.

The nicest thing about it is that it really feels like a proper meal time. In halls, everyone would cook their own separate meals at different times. This meant sometimes you’d be fighting 6 other people for the oven and other times you’d cook on your own and sit by yourself while you ate. Plus you’d have to do all the cooking and all the washing up, which seemed to take forever. The only downside to it is that I tend to like to eat proper homemade meals nearly every day rather than eating freezer food, but it’s a very small sacrifice to make and we do cook quite often. I offered to cook for all of us tomorrow, because I do enjoy cooking (can you guess?!) and it’s nice to have a proper cooked meal on a Sunday. I was wondering what I should make and decided I wanted to use rosemary in it, as I brought a rosemary plant with me (actually, it look a little droopy. I should probably do something about that…). I thought I’d make sweet potato and normal potato chips (with rosemary) and then maybe a kind of puff pastry pie with Quorn chicken and vegetables in it. We’ll see how it turns out!

 

Living in a house is so much better than halls as there are always people there to just hang out with but you’ve still got your own personal space. It’s so nice having a proper living room to sit in instead of all cramming into someone’s tiny bedroom too. So, all in all my first week has been a very nice one. House = good, girls = good, group meals = good.

We’ll have to see if all this organisation lasts for more than one week though!

3 Comments

  1. Sue

    It all sounds very civilised. Is the house far from the uni?

  2. One-oh-four

    Your rosemary plant looks healthier than my coriander – it was fine when I got it home from the supermarket, but it has grown about 6 inches in three days and just kind of flopped over. Need to cook Thai curry this weekend! Your living arrangements sound very civilised – long may it continue 🙂

  3. I’m very impressed by your organisation! 🙂

Leave a Reply

