justathought

Just the thoughts of a girl.

The Epic Game Of Catch

Yesterday, me and Padraig were just lounging around in the sitting room watching telly when all of a sudden, he picks up a juggling ball (don’t ask me why there was a random juggling ball on the sofa, because I have no idea!) and lobs it at me. Naturally, I pick it up and hurl it back. This turns into an epic game of catch almost worthy of the one on ‘Friends’ between Joey and Ross. We must have sat there for about 45 minutes just tossing the ball between us, sometimes only using our left hand, sometimes throwing it as hard as we could and sometimes as softly as possible, making it a job for the other to catch it.

We were expecting my mum and Rachel to get back from Heather’s at any moment, so I decided it would be best if I got dressed before they arrived (not that I was still in my pyjamas at 3 in the afternoon…). I go upstairs, get dressed and as I start to come down again, something feels a bit strange – “It’s quiet;” I think, “Too quiet.” So I creep down the remaining stairs and along the hallway. At the end of the hallway, just before the sitting room door, it branches off slightly to the right to allow access to a toilet. Being the young adults that we are, one of us often hides in this bit and jumps out at the other, so as I creep along the hall I fully expect him to be in there ready to jump out at me. I slow down even more as I reach the bit just before the turning and as I get there, I jump round and shout, “BOO!”. At which point Padraig appears, looking very sheepish, from the sitting room. “I WAS JUST GOING TO HIDE IN THERE!” he exclaimed – it turns out he was going to do exactly as I thought, only I’d been too quiet and he hadn’t heard me in time to hide without me seeing him.

We both go back into the sitting room and retain our places before the epic game of catch begins again. He throws the ball to me and says, “Sometimes it’s great being your brother.” I’m taken aback slightly before he says, “We’re almost the same in so many ways.” I don’t really know what to say to this, so instead I just launch the ball into his shoulder and we continue as we had been.

A few moments later, my mum and Rachel arrive home. After the initial hugs and ‘welcome home’s’, my mum asks, “So what have you two been up to?” to which we both reply, “Nothing!”.

Leave a Reply

