justathought

Just the thoughts of a girl.

Her Fearful Symmetry

One of my favourite books is ‘The Time Traveller’s Wife’, and my mum mentioned that she had another book by the same author, Audrey Niffenegger. So the last few weeks, I’ve been reading ‘Her Fearful Symmetry’ which is a lot darker and very different  from ‘The Time Traveller’s Wife’. It’s a bit ‘death-y’ and about ghosts and graveyards and things – definitely not my usual kind of book.

I actually found the start of it a bit boring, but weirdly, I couldn’t put it down. The chapters were a good length to read before going to bed, but I have to admit I had a few bad dreams from reading it (I’m such a wimp!). Nevertheless, I kept reading and finished it the other day and I have to say I was quite disappointed with the ending. I found this with ‘The Time Traveller’s Wife’ as well, how the story doesn’t really seem to finish properly. It’s as if the author’s just got bored of writing and decided to bring it to an abrupt end. That’s one of the reasons why I thought the film was much better than films-of-books usually are, because they changed the ending slightly and brought the story to a proper end.

Although ‘Her Fearful Symmetry’ wasn’t my favourite book to read, I always like trying new genres and it did make a nice break from reading teen fiction – it felt so nice to be reading a proper adult book rather than reading different versions of the same teen love story plot over and over again. I can’t wait till after my exams when I can have a good long read in the middle of the day, but I need some advice – I’ve read all of my books so many times, I really need something new. What books would you suggest? It can be any type of genre, and whether I read it or not will most likely depend on whether we already have it in the house (we have a lot of books dotted around all over the place at home), or whether one of my friends has a copy that can borrow.

Help a fellow reader out!

Edit to add – I just had to go through this and change all of the headings from ‘Her Beautiful Symmetry’ to the  actual title, ‘Her Fearful Symmetry’. I’m such an idiot – revision’s obviously gotten the better of me. Oops!

8 Comments

  1. Rachel

    Fearful, not beautiful 😛 When I’m home again I’ll bring back Never Let Me Go with me. It’s not your usual thing but it is a really good book! I have the film too 🙂 x x x

    • Oh, my god! How did I manage to get the title wrong?! Oops, haha xx

  2. Rachel

    Haha I know, you had a picture of the book and everything 😛 Well corrected x x

  3. Any of Jodi picoults books are great! I’ve got her fearful symmetry on my bookshelf to read soon x

  4. Rosy Nancarrow

    Glad you stuck with it Alice, and I agree about the ending, there was more story there! Trying to think of a few of the books I have read over the years. The Memory Keepers Daughter is a good one. I’ve just bought another one from the same author but not started it yet. The Twilight ones are good, but I expect you have read them. PS I love You if you want mushy but good. Robert Goddard and Simon Kernick are good if you want a thriller/crime. I will have to look on my book shelves tonight and see what else jumps out at me!

  5. One-oh-four

    Have you read Chocolat by Joanne Harris? And the sequel, Lollipop Shoes? There is a third book out soon too, Peaches for Monsieur Le Cure, I think. They are really good. Other authors I’m investigating at the moment are Patrick Ness, Veronica Roth, and George RR Martin’s series which apparently is also a high budget TV series although we don’t have Sky. Finally for now, although I’m sure I’ll think of loads more later, are the Phillip Pullmann books (not just the Dark Materials, he did other stuff too) and Alexander McCall-Smith (again, not just the well-known detective in Africa stuff, his other stuff is great too).

  6. Oh I love Chocolat! And I’m really into the classics at the moment, right now I’m reading Dracula by Bram Stoker. I wouldn’t recommened reading it alone in a dark house at night, but apart from that it’s really good!

  7. Cate

    I loved the Kate Morton books, The House at Riverton, The Forgotten Garden and Distant Hours. I also like all the Elin Hilderbrand books, they make you feel like you are on one long vacation. Barbara Pym and Maeve Binchy are wonderful authors. The Help by Kathryn Stockett. The Physick Book of Deliverance Dane by Katherine Howe. I’m currently reading the Seaside Knitters Mystery series by Sally Goldenbaum.

Leave a Reply

