justathought

Just the thoughts of a girl.

Jamie’s Awesome Potatoes

Just before I came back to university, I was really ill with a stomach bug and had to spend the whole day in bed drifting in and out of sleep. In between these naps, I did the obvious thing you do when you’re ill – I watched telly. One of the things I watched was Jamie’s Thirty Minute Meals and he cooked these amazingly delicious looking potatoes. I think it was a kind of spruced up pub lunch and he was doing these instead of chips, but they looked SO DAMN TASTY! I really wanted to try them out, but I was whisked away to uni to take a hideous exam instead.

Anyway, when I was home this weekend, I decided that I just had to try them out. The only place I could find the actual recipe was here, but I took lots of photos, so you should be able to follow it from what I did.

You will need:

  • New potatoes (or any kind of small potato. The ones we had were a bit too big, but they still worked well)
  • A few cloves of garlic (how many depends on how many potatoes you’ve got, but I like garlic, so I’d say the more the better!)
  • Rosemary
  • Sea Salt

First, chop any larger potatoes in half and give them a rinse.

Peel your garlic cloves (Jamie Oliver doesn’t do this, but I just think it’s a bit gross to leave the skins on!) and crush them a little bit to bring out the flavour.

Pop the potatoes and garlic in quite a deep frying pan (or you could use a saucepan for this first bit), cover with water and boil for about 20 minutes or until they’re cooked through.

When they’re cooked, drain them and then tip them back in the frying pan, but not before fishing out one or two cloves of garlic. Chop these up really finely so they form a sort of paste and then add that to the frying pan too. Pour a good glug of olive oil over the potatoes and put on a medium heat.

Now, the next bit works a little better if your potatoes are whole, but you grab a potato masher and gently crush the potatoes a little. The idea is to get a flat surface so they fry a little better and also to bring out a bit of their fluffiness so you get yummy crispy bits.

While they’re frying, gently toss them or give them a bit of a poke with a spatula to stop them from sticking. At some point during the frying, add in a few sprigs of rosemary – don’t think about missing this step because this is what makes them so delicious!

Also add a nice sprinkling of sea salt. I tried using normal salt at first because I didn’t see the sea salt (tongue twister or what!) and you really couldn’t taste it, so if you can, use sea salt. You get a nice crunch with it too. Keep tossing them/stirring them until they’re satisfyingly golden and crunchy-looking, then serve with whatever else you’re having. Unless you’re just having a huge plate of potatoes (which I so wouldn’t judge you for doing – they’re just that good).

They are seriously tasty. They were that good in fact, that word travelled about the awesome potatoes. I visited my Grandma and she’d already heard about how good they were and wanted the recipe. I skyped Rachel and she’d already been told about their deliciousness and said she wanted to try them next time she was home.

Although I would like to tell the world that the potatoes were so good purely because of my cooking skills, honestly, I just followed the recipe – it’s Jamie Oliver’s years of practise that allowed him to come up with such a tasty recipe that’s so easy to make yourself. I’m just glad I did try them, I think they’ll be a regular occurrence at home now, although I think I might use smaller potatoes next time. So please, for your taste buds’ sake, try this easy peasy recipe you’ll see what I’m banging on about!

8 Comments

  1. One-oh-four

    They sound amazing! Might try this next time we have visitors…..

  2. Liz T

    If you leave the garlic in its skin, you can just squeeze out the good bits once it has cooked with the potatoes – saves chopping! Oh, and I’m reading your recommended Wolf Brother, my excuse is I’m checking to see whether it’s suitable for my grandsons’. They are actually a little young for it yet but it’s a heck of a good story.

    • Ooh, so glad you’re reading it. I never get tired of that series. Let me know how you get on 🙂

  3. Jan

    Oh my goodness that looks so good! I could make a meal out of just that for sure. Thanks for sharing. I must try it!!

  4. They sound and look delicious, must try it – and I spy a Tesco’s cheese & onion pasty, just bought some myself this afteroon.

  5. Or even this afternoon!

Trackbacks

  1. A Weekend of Food | justathought
  2. Cheeeeeeeeeese | justathought

Leave a Reply

