justathought

Just the thoughts of a girl.

Avengers Assemble

Last night, I went out with my friends for an Indian and to see the new Avengers Assemble film. I’ll say now that this really isn’t the kind of film that I would usually go and see. I don’t go to the cinema very often and when I do it’s usually for a rom-com or for a film of a book that I’ve read or something, but I obviously didn’t want to miss out on an evening out with my friends, so I went along.

I actually really enjoyed it though – not as much as the rest of the packed cinema who I think had been waiting to see it for approximately 5.8 months, but it was pretty good. I’ll also admit in the post that I am so rubbish at knowing who’s who in the celebrity world and having not seen any of the other individual superhero movies or the advert for this, it took me an embarrassingly long time to realise that that guy was the hulk. I think it was pretty much when his clothes were being ripped apart as he ‘transformed’ that I realised who he was and his references to ‘the other guy’ started to make sense.

We saw it in 3D and it was so much better than the last film I saw in 3D. I think it was Avatar and all that stood out was a little floating bubble at the start. I think I might have been disappointed because it was the first 3D film I’d seen and I’d expected it to be like the IMAX film I saw at a Think Tank where images come right out and you flinch because you think they’re going to hit you. In this one though, ordinary things like pillars and desks stood out which was really good and kind of made you feel like you were there watching from the sidelines.

So, if any of you get offered to go and see Avengers Assemble and you don’t think it’s really your thing, don’t worry. Take it from a non-action-film-loving, superhero novice that you’ll pretty much be able to follow the storyline and there a lots of very funny bits (people actually started clapping at a few of them!). Plus, it’s got Robert Downey Junior in it (who I now recognise), so you can’t go too far wrong!

Leave a Reply

