justathought

Just the thoughts of a girl.

It’s Done!

I wonder if you remember my scarf? It was my first attempt at knitting an actual something rather than doing a few rows, getting bored and hiding it away somewhere. Well, I bought it home from uni where I’d just been doing a bit now and then and I took it up to Heather’s when we went on our mini holiday so I could do a bit while Heather crocheted and my mum knitted. But when I got it out of the bag and unrolled it, I realised it was reeeeeeeeeeeally long already. I made my mum try it on, and it was the perfect length so I had to make do with reading the Hunger Games every evening (which actually suited me just fine!).

Anyway, I brought it back home again and it’s taken me this long to just cast off and sew in the little tailey bits, because in my mind it was kind of already finished. I began to get an idea for my next project though and I needed the knitting needles, so I finished off the last little bits and then cast on my new secret project (which I’ve been pretty speedy with so far).  So here is the progress of my first ever proper, wearable knitted thing:

TA DAH!!!

I’m really pleased with it, but I’m also really glad I’m moving onto something else now because it was a bit boring doing the same thing over and over again. I’ve challenged myself with my new project – I’m doing something stripy! It definitely keeps you on your toes and I’ve already messed up the counting a few times but hey, that’s never been my strong point! I imagine that I’ll keep going really quickly with it for a few days and then I’ll get bored and forget about it for a bit which might mean it’ll be a while before you get to see it, especially if I take it back to uni with me. So if you don’t hear about it for a while, that’ll probably be why.

So that’s my second ever Ta Dah and I can’t wait to write my third. I’m learning that despite the stigma against knitting, you can actually make some really pretty, fashionable things (I’m not necessarily talking about my scarf here by the way!) and I’m looking forward to coming up with some other things to make in my own way, in my own time.

What new projects are you working on at the moment?

7 Comments

  1. I love the photo of you and your sister knitting. I’ll bet your mother loves it too. Nice work on the scarf. I haven’t finished any knitted project yet. I have been practicing my knitting all week. I am trying to get good enough to work on a KAL at ravelry. Happy Easter.

  2. Ohhh it’s so prettty! I love the colour. I have recently made some easter chicks, and now I am hoping to start a jumper…a big leap, i know!

  3. Nanita

    Ooh it’s lovely, you did a brilliant job on this scarf! I’m a beginning knitter too, I’ve been learning a lot from verypink.com which has a lot of interesting and understandable videos, you should take a look! Right now I’m (very slowly) working on a free Ravelry pattern: http://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/saroyan
    I was a bit intimidated by the leaves, but it’s really a lot easier than it looks. Mine’s got many flaws in it already (I don’t know how to ‘undo’ a knitted mistake and the only lady that I know who does is the owner of my lys who opens her shop only a few days a week, and I’m not the most patient person ;-)) but I’m loving it. Still can’t believe that I’m actually knitting! 😉 x

  4. How brilliant! You will always remember the first knit you make that you can actually wear! This will feel like the very best scarf EVER!
    Well done.
    Fleur x

  5. I can totally relate to this post! I taught myself how to knit by simply watching youtube videos. Right now I can only knit scarves, too, but I am hoping to take some knitting classes over the summer. I want to learn how to read the patterns. It is like a totally different language to me. How did you learn how to knit? That scarf came out really nice.

    • Thanks! My mum taught me to knit when I was much younger. 🙂

Trackbacks

  1. A Lazy Weekend « justathought

Leave a Reply

