justathought

Just the thoughts of a girl.

Day 4 – Lazy Day

On the last day of our mini holiday, we were all pretty tired so ended up having a bit more of a lie in than the other days. We didn’t have anything specific planned, so spent a while in the morning quietly sitting and reading/crocheting/knitting. After a while, we got a bit peckish but it wasn’t quite time for lunch yet, so me and my mum headed over to the coffee shop we went to when we first arrived to pick up some hot drinks and some snacks. When we got back, I gulped down my hot chocolate and had already started on the caramel shortbread (which, by the way, was delicious!) before Heather stopped me and said, “Don’t you want to take a photo of that for your blog?”. Oh yes, my blog. I forgot about it in my chocolatey, carameley haze. So here you have a slightly delayed picture of my morning snack. It was yummy though!

 

They only have one armchair and a desk chair in there house at the moment because there’s not much space due to all the work they’re doing to the house, so we had to bring our own camping chairs. I think it adds to the excitement of it all though, and it’s very handy having those little pockets!

After a bit more of our peaceful morning, we had a light lunch and decided we’d like to go to Bradford on the train for the afternoon. I always love going on trains because it always fills me with excitement over where we might be going. As a child, if we were ever going on a train, we were always going somewhere exciting so I guess that’s stayed with me.

The train station in their town is quite small, but SO pretty! It has a quaint little entrance to it and the pillars along the platform were all really frilly and decorative. Also along the platform, they have carts brimming with colourful flowers. I just love this idea and it really makes the place so much brighter. I wish they would do this everywhere, although I guess the novelty would wear off and I don’t think they’d last long at my train station!

We were all so tired that there wasn’t much conversation on the train, although we did do a lot of pointing out cute lambs and curlews as we went along. Once we got to Bradford, we didn’t really have much of an agenda but we moseyed around a few of the shops, making sure to drop in and visit the pets at Pets At Home. They had three or four very cute rabbits and some baby hamsters that were all bundled up together trying to sleep. Every time one of them rearranged itself, the whole group would jiggle around trying to get comfortable. It ended up as one mass of sawdust and fur just wriggling away. In the end, one of them decided it was all too much and got up to move to the other side of the cage to be on its own. It was very funny!

Once we’d looked round the shops it got quite hot, so we bought a few cold drinks and headed back to the train station. We all had a wrestle with Heather’s water, trying to get the cap off, but the bottle won so she had to wait to get home before she could open it. We got back on the train and had another quiet ride back to Heather’s town. We had just about enough energy to look around the craft shop there and buy a few balls of yarn. My mum bought me some pink yarn to go with my other balls that I got a while ago. Originally, I was going to knit lots of little squares and join them together to make a cushion cover, but I think I’ve changed my mind to doing a striped one instead. I’ll let you know how it works out, but it might be a while before I have time to do it.

We ended the day the same way we began, by sitting in the living room crocheting/knitting/reading and chatting about what a nice time we’d had staying with them. It really did feel like a holiday and it was lovely to see both of them over there and get to know their town a little bit better. We did such a lot of lovely things and I really enjoyed being outside so much. When we got home the next day we were both so tired, but it was definitely worth it!

Where do you like to visit for a little get away?

3 Comments

  1. One-oh-four

    Sounds like you had a lovely time! I love escaping down to Devon (my in-laws live there) and being able to choose between going to the seaside (Sidmouth, Lyme Regis, Beer), or to head onto Dartmoor, or go to Exeter for cool shops, or quaint little towns like Honiton for antique shops and unusual little gift shops. Mmmmm, farm shops, pick-your-own strawberries, and cream teas…they usually feature quite heavily too! Last time I was there I went on a yarn-shop crawl and found some real gems.

  2. Melanie

    We really did have a lovely time staying with Heather and exploring in more depth Heather’s home town. I’m looking forward to my Mum being able to visit later in the year and seeing how beautiful Yorkshire can be and hopefully having as nice a time as Alice and I did, X

  3. Nanita

    Such fun to read about your mini-holiday! It was funny reading about it on Heather’s blog as well, you girls must have taken a hundred pictures together! 🙂 Have a lovely weekend x

Leave a Reply

