justathought

Just the thoughts of a girl.

Out and About

The weather was so nice today that we just had to go outside and do something. It feels great to go outside for no real reason because at uni, you have to actually be out to do something, you can’t just wonder around aimlessly! My mum and I decided that we’d take my grandma to see all the lambs in the fields that we saw on the way back from university on Friday. Other than a flat tyre and the lack of lambs in the first field we looked at, it was a great day. I mean, it’s always going to be a good day when you get to see day old lambs suckling from their mother, isn’t it!

After we’d finished our ‘Aww-ing’ and ‘Ah-ing’, we headed over to a nearby National Trust place for a spot of lunch. We all had vegetable soup and it was deeelicious. I also seemed to take a LOT of photos!

See, I told you  I took a lot of photos! It really was a lovely day out and it was made so much better by the sunshine (and having lunch out, everything’s made better by having lunch out somewhere). We looked around the newly refurbished shop there which has some nice little things in it. Then we stopped at my grandma’s for a cup of tea and went home.

As soon as we got home, I decided to make cheese scones. I had a bread roll with my soup, but my mum and grandma both had cheese scones that looked so good I just had to make some. I’ve only attempted them on my own once before but when the recipe said to knead the dough, I kneaded it like you knead bread dough. This was a big mistake. They turned out as solid as a solid thing, as I found out afterwards you’re meant to be very light with the dough and just bring it all together rather than actually kneading it. Stupid recipe with its stupid different-meaning words. Anyway, I knew what to do this time and was under the watchful eye of my mum, so they turned out ok. They still weren’t as light as they could have been but at least they were edible this time.

I then spent the rest of my day on my secret project, which is SO nearly finished! I probably could have finished it today, but my eyes were getting tired and I was starting to get frustrated with it so I stopped. I’m sure I’ll finish it tomorrow though, so I’ll be able to do my first ever Ta Dah post! How exciting!

 

 

1 Comment

  1. Roanne

    Aww these all look so English and pretty!! It’s very strange seeing daffodils and lambs; just a hop over the pond to me and there’s still about a foot of snow! Can’t quite get my head around the fact it’s Spring just a few hundred miles away! Spring here will start a couple of weeks after Easter apparently, though I did see a bird today which is a good start! 🙂
    P.s. majorly craving cheese scones now…omnomnom…

Leave a Reply

