justathought

Just the thoughts of a girl.

Book Worm

I love reading.

I’m one of those people that if I find the right book, I can sit down and accidentally spend 4 hours reading when I’d only intended to read for half an hour. I like to think I’m quite a diverse reader, but I’m sure there are lots of brilliant books and genres out there that I don’t even know about. I’m currently reading my way through some books by Sarah Dessen. They’re very girly and not about particularly hard hitting issues, but it’s easy reading which is just what you want to relax your mind after a hard day of intending to revise. This is the one I’m on right now:

I also really like her books because they’re easy to pick up from where you left off, which is great for uni because I often spend the odd weekend at home, or have a lot of late night work to do in a week which means reading gets left behind for a little while.

There is another set of books that I love to read, but am almost ashamed to admit that I like. I also bet that they will appear on 90% of teenage girls’ book lists and that you can all guess which ones I’m talking about now.

That’s right, you guessed it. The Twilight Saga by Stephenie Meyer. And until you have read the books yourself, you cannot judge me for enjoying them. As soon as you start reading, you just can’t stop! Admittedly, as many people will point out, the writing isn’t great but it’s not awful either. I don’t think it distracts from the storyline at all. What I like is that everything is so thought through – it’s like she’s actually created her own little world and there are a ton of facts and happenings that are there but she hasn’t written about. Everything seems to make sense and link together and it’s mostly a feel good book.

A slightly more grown up book that I adore is ‘The Time Traveller’s Wife’, by Audrey Niffenegger:

There’s not much I can say about this apart from READ IT!! It’s a tear jerker, but everyone loves one of those once in a while. It’s such a beautiful book that I can read over and over again. The film is really good as well and it’s one of those rare ones that I think is almost, if not is, as good as the book. I think the ending in the film is actually better than the one in the book, but I’m not going to spoil it for you!

A set of books that I discovered in my early teens and still love is this:

‘Noughts and Crosses’, by Malorie Blackman is the first in the series and is such an amazing, thought provoking book. It’s a bit of a Romeo and Juliet plot to do with race where the Crosses (black people) are superior to the noughts (white people). It’s another tear jerker, but is just so good!

My all time favourite book series has to be this though:

‘Wolf Brother’ by Michelle Paver is the first book in the Chronicles of Ancient Darkness and I love, love, love, love, love this book series! It’s set in ancient times and is about a boy who has to survive after his parents are killed. What I adore about these books is that it’s obvious that the author has done so much research into everything. There’s even a map of what the land would have looked like back then. I also love that although it’s completely fictional, there’s a kind of truth behind everything in that people of that time would have believed in demons and witchcraft-ey sort of things. My friend, Kathryn, suggested the book series to me a few years ago and I’m so glad she did. I had a double ear infection at the time, so couldn’t hear a thing. I just worked my way through the series and even when the infections had gone, I couldn’t put the books down. They are written brilliantly and they’re on my list of books to read next. I think I might have to wait until the Summer though, because if I started reading now, I wouldn’t get anything done!

This whole post was sparked by a conversation I had with Rachel yesterday about the fact that she’d just finished the first book in the Hunger Games series. She said it was absolutely brilliant and that I would love it. It’s supposed to be a cross between ‘Twilight’ and ‘Wolf Brother’, so sounds just up my street. I’ve heard of it before because a few of my friends have read it and I know that Katie, over at Confessions of a Young Married Couple has also read and loved the series. So I think that also goes on my list of books to read. Hopefully Rachel will bring the book home over Easter so I can read it then, although I do have a load of revision for my exams that I should be doing, so maybe it’s not such a good idea to get hooked on a book series just at the moment.

So there you have it. If your’e looking for something to read, I highly recommend anything on this list. I really do think there’s something there for everyone and if you do read one from my recommendation, I hope you enjoy it!

4 Comments

  1. Get on the Hunger Games before the films come out (they aren’t looking promising). The first book is brilliant and the other 2 are pretty good too. X

  2. Nanita

    The Time Traveler’s Wife has been on my wishlist for quite some time, am definitely going to read it! My boyfriend says that I have a serious book problem/addiction and that I really shouldn’t buy more books! (Hehe, when we met I was so shocked he had never ever read Harry Potter that I made him read the whole series) He’s been trying to convince me to get a Kindle, but no way not ever!! I love the smell of books and the flipping pages, and what’s a home without books on shelves??
    p.s. just saw your previous post on the Masquerade Ball, you looked gorgeous! 🙂 x

  3. You will love the hunger games! I did, although the writing style can be a bit weird at times.

Trackbacks

  1. Gods and Warriors « justathought

Leave a Reply

