justathought

Just the thoughts of a girl.

Stratford

Today I went to Stratford to meet up with a few people from the canoe club and go for a paddle. I woke up at 9 and although most students would complain about the ‘early’ start, I loved having to wake up for a reason other than to go to a lecture.

We arrived to find the ground covered in snow. We’ve had a bit here at the university, but most of it’s disappeared now. We still went paddling – because we’re hardcore like that. 🙂

It was really good to blow away the cobwebs and get back out on the water again, and it actually wasn’t as cold as I thought it would be.

My mum came but didn’t paddle as she had a sore throat, so I paddled with her usual partner in a two person boat, or K2. As you will see when I post other canoeing pictures, it’s a very ungraceful sport. You walk around with mud smeared everywhere, getting into the most unattractive positions as you will see in the next photo.

We paddled for about an hour and a half and then chatted whilst drinking hot chocolate from a flask and eating chocolate digestives. This is the best bit about training – someone always brings something yummy for afterwards! Then I said my goodbyes and was dropped off at the university, but not before we stopped for more hot drinks and cake at Curiositea. This is a very quaint little coffee shop on campus. To give you an idea of how good it is, it’s survived opposite a Costa and I try to go there as much as possible to, you know support the small businesses (it’s got nothing to do with their yummy cakes, honest!).

 

All in all, it was a good day. Nice to be out doing something and to get off campus for a while. When I got back, I did (eventually) get around to doing my washing. And this is why I hate doing it:

It always takes up the last bit of space in my room. Seriously, it looks like a washing machine threw up or something! There are tumble driers around, but I’ve never used one before and I just know I’ll end up with everything 10 times smaller than it was originally. Plus, they cost £1 to use which I’ll admit isn’t that much, but by saving it I don’t feel quite so bad about spending my entire student loan on cakes from Curiositea.

1 Comment

  1. Hi Alice – good to meet you! All of your posts have been a very interesting read even though I could be your Grandmother! Keep them coming.

Leave a Reply

